These words penetrated my heart as my former pastor Richard Exley (author of The Rhythm of Life and Perils of Power)  spoke them in my time in ministry training at college.  I felt this strong call to ministry and leading others     and I knew this truth was THE key to not just surviving, but thriving in leadership.  All of us at one point or another have asked the questions, “Am I really making a difference in people’s lives?  Is this all in vain?”  Even Jesus in the messianic prophecies of Isaiah 49:4 said, “I have labored in vain.”  But Jesus understood the key to the meaning of leadership, and went on to say, “…yet surely my just reward is with the LORD, and my work with my God.”  For this reason, Jesus spent more time with the Father than answering to the constant demands of ministry (see Luke 5:15-16). When Abraham received the call to be the father of many nations (no pressure there!), God reassured him by saying, “Do not be afraid, Abram.  I am your shield, your exceedingly great reward.”  Who or what is your reward?  If it’s not God Himself, we will find ourselves disillusioned, burned out, and it will all seem meaningless.

Everything worth anything flows out of relationship with Jesus!  My daily prayer is, “Jesus You are the Vine, I am the branch.  Apart from You, I am nothing.  But with You, I can do all things.”  What happens when I’m not ministering out of this place?

  • I study the Word only when I need to have a message for others.
  • I begin to get become preoccupied with myself in public. I begin to care about my public life more than my private life, and as a result, I begin to cut corners and live in compromise and deception.
  • I begin to seek after the affirmation of others more because I am not secure in my relationship with the Father.
  • I feel the need to fix everything to make everyone happy.
  • I do not feel like I can ever make a mistake because my identity is tied into what others think of me instead of what the Father thinks of me.
  • I feel guilty if I am not always busy because my identity is tied to what I do instead of who I am in Christ.
  • I allow myself to get under the unrealistic expectations of others or myself because I am not spending time hearing the right expectations of the Father.
  • I begin to operate in a need-centered, crisis mode instead of a Christ-centered, Spirit-led life.

But what happens when I am leading out of a constant overflow of relationship with Jesus?  Ministry again has meaning!  God Himself is my exceedingly great reward!!

prayer

 Estas palabras penetraron mi corazón cuando mi pastor en ese tiempo Richard Exley (autor del libro El Ritmo de Vida y El Peligro del Poder) habló en mi tiempo de entrenamiento ministerial en la universidad. Sentí un fuerte llamado a ministrar y a liderar a otros, y supe que su verdad era LA LLAVE no solo para sobrevivir, pero para prosperar en el liderazgo. Todos nosotros en algun punto en nuestras vidas nos hemos preguntado, ¿Estoy realmente haciendo una diferencia en la vida de las personas? ¿Es esto todo en vano, vale la pena?  Aun Jesús en las profecías mesianicas de Isaías 49:4 dijo, “en vano he trabajado”.Pero Jesús entendió la llave del significado de liderazgo y fue y dijo,…” Pero mi justicia está en manos del Señor; mi recompensa está con mi Dios.” Por esta razón, Jesús pasó más tiempo con el Padre que contestando las demandas constantes del ministerio (ver Lucas 5:15-16). Cuando Abraham recibió el llamado de ser el padre de muchas naciones (bastante presión no crees?) Dios le tranquilizó diciendo, “No tengas miedo, Abram. Yo soy tu escudo, tu extremadamente grande recompensa”. ¿ Quién or qué es tu recompensa? Si no es Dios mismo, nos vamos a encontrar a nosotros mismos desilusionados, agotados, y todo va parecer sin sentido.

¡Todo digno de todo, fluye de la relación con Jesús! Mi oración diaria es, “ Jesús Tu eres la vid, y yo la rama, lejos de Tí no soy nada, pero contigo, puedo hacer todas las cosas”. ¿Qué pasa cuando no estoy ministrando en esta actitud?

  • Estudio la palabra solo cuando necesito tener un mensaje para otros.
  • Empiezo a preocuparme de mi mismo en público. Empieza a importarme mas mi vida pública que mi vida privada, y como resultado de esto, empiezo a hacer las cosas a la ligera, cediendo y en decepción.
  • Empiezo a buscar la afirmación de otros mas, porque no tengo seguridad en mi relación con el Padre.
  • Siento que necesito arreglar todo, para que todos esten felices.
  • Siento que no puedo cometer errores porque mi identidad está atada en los que otros piensan de mi, en vez de lo que el Padre piensa de mi.
  • Me siento culpable si no estoy siempre ocupado, ya que mi identidad está atada en lo que hago en vez de quien soy yo en Cristo.
  • Me permito a mi mismo estar bajo una expectativa poco realista de otros y de mi mismo, porque no estoy pasando tiempo escuchando las correctas expectativas del Padre.
  • Empiezo a operar en una necesidad centrada, en un modo de crisis, en vez de estar centrado en Cristo, guiado por el Espíritu.

Pero¿ que pasa cuando estoy guiando bajo un constante fluir en la relación con Jesús? ¡El ministerio tiene sentido de nuevo! ¡¡Dios mismo es mi extremadamente grande recompenza!!

